By-election campaigns in Witney and Batley and Spen enter final day

By-election campaigns in Witney and Batley and Spen enter final day

Houses of ParliamentImage copyright

Campaigning is entering its final day in two Westminster by-elections.

Voters will choose new MPs for Witney, in Oxfordshire, and Batley and Spen, in West Yorkshire, on Thursday.

Former Prime Minister David Cameron, who stood down as an MP after quitting Downing Street, is being replaced in Witney.

The by-election in Batley and Spen was prompted by the death of Labour MP Jo Cox, who was shot and stabbed in Birstall, West Yorkshire, in June.

Mrs Cox won the seat with a 6,057 majority in 2015.

Labour’s Batley and Spen candidate Tracy Brabin is up against nine others representing smaller parties or running as independents.

The Conservatives, Liberal Democrats and UKIP have all said they will not be fielding a candidate.

In Witney, the Conservatives are defending a 25,155 majority from 2015, and have chosen barrister Robert Courts as their candidate.

Polls in both constituencies open at 07:00 BST on 20 October.

Here is a full list of the candidates standing, in alphabetical order by surname:

Batley and Spen

Corbyn Anti – By Election Protest

Tracy Lynn Brabin – Labour Party

Jack Buckby – No to terrorism, yes to Britain

Richard Charles Edmonds – National Front

David Furness – British National Party Local People First

Therese Hirst – English Democrats: ‘Putting England First!’

Waqas Ali Khan – Independent

Garry Mervyn Kitchin – Independent

Ankit Love – One Love Party

Henry Edmund Burke Mayhew – Independent


Emilia Arno – One Love Party

Dickie Bird – UKIP

David Bishop – Bus-Pass Elvis Party

Robert Courts – Conservative Party

Duncan Enright – Labour Party

Mad Hatter – Official Monster Raving Loony Party

Lord Toby Jug – The Eccentric Party of Great Britain

Adam Knight – Independent

Elizabeth Leffman – Liberal Democrat

Winston McKenzie – English Democrats

Helen Salisbury – National Health Action Party

Larry Sanders – Green Party

Daniel Skidmore – Independent

Nicholas Ward – Independent

By-election campaigns in Witney and Batley and Spen enter final day}

You must be logged in to post a comment Login